Staying Chic in the Heat: Part 2: Makeup

Ok, so what about trying to wear makeup in this ridiculous heat? I am one of those women who rarely (if at all) leave my house without makeup. I know–it’s sad, but it’s true. So with that being said, here are a few of my summer makeup must haves.

First, for me, waterproof mascara is a MUST! I wear mascara every day, and I’m not going lie, I wear tons of it! In the summertime heat when I am running around all day, I don’t want it to look like I am wearing makeup from the night before, or perhaps crying even, so use waterproof. No doubt regular mascara will end up under your eyes almost (if not always) every time. Its hot girls, we’re all going to sweat a little. If you’re looking for a good one, I have a couple of suggestions. If you buy from the makeup counter, my personal favorite is DiorShow, and if you buy in the drug store I would go with L’Oreal professional. Both are great at adding some volume to my light lashes without clumping up too much or flaking.

My next summer must have is tinted moisturizer. Tinted moisturizer is not near as heavy as regular foundation but it still has coverage-and hello, it’s moisturizer on your face all day in the hot summer! I don’t know about you, but I hate the feeling of foundation sweating off of my face all day. I can actually feel my pores clogging and my face breaking out–not a pleasant feeling! If you are like me and like a little more coverage just dab on some concealer or powder if you like. Don’t get me wrong, once nighttime hits, I still pull out the heavy stuff, of course! When looking for a good tinted moisturizer in the perfect shade (this is key), I personally would consult with a professional make-up artist. If you live in the Houma area, I would talk to either Francis at Del Amiche Salon or Fran at Rouge. It’s your face ladies; this is one that I would definitely spend the extra money for.

Well obviously we all want a little color on our face. After all it is summer right? Everyone wants a little beachy glow. Its pretty simple- If you are fair skinned like me, a little blush or cheek stain can go a long way. For my medium to dark skin ladies- the right amount of bronzer applied to the cheeks is really all you need to look perfectly sun kissed!

As far as eye shadow and lips go-it’s totally your call. I myself follow two simple rules year round. Heavy on the eyes means go light on lips. Heavy on the lips means go light on the eyes. If you go by this rule you really can’t go wrong.

These are just my tips at staying chic in this sweltering heat. At the end of the day you have to do what makes you feel beautiful, and you will be sure to get it right every time!

Click here to read Staying Chic in the Heat: Part1: Hair

Rock on, Lindsey

One thought on “Staying Chic in the Heat: Part 2: Makeup

  1. Pingback: Staying Chic in the Heat: Part 1: Hair | materialgirlblog

Leave a Reply

